explanations that I think are due to you

I made some changes to the appearance of the Front page of my Log. You must have noticed that you cannot see your URL anymore, the Blogroll only features Paul, Ian and the WP standard.

I also pasted the Blue Ribbon Movement logo right at the top as I support the movement from my university days and feel all right thinking individuals and organizations ought too, if content and right to expression is important to them. I do believe these are crucial to the survival of a ‘people friendly’ world order and must not needlessly be politicized or stuck in grooves of petty, narrow domestic, regional interests.

I recently learned to use the text box in the side bar feature on WP, where you can embed widgets. I used to stare at the lovely little things on people’s blogs and wonder how they do it, when I chanced upon it by accident (with a bit of nudging by Sushant) although, as you can see, I could not embed “where you come from” Map of the world. But I was very happy to see how little alphabet like signs transformed themselves into fun little pictures that moved and danced.

I played around with it for a bit πŸ™‚ like a child with a new toy – it still doesn’t fail to excite and amaze me how that little blue button down at the bottom of the page ‘knows’ how many people are reading the page! How does it do it? It is so tiny and only a colored button!!! I wish I knew.

Anyway, I recently got some query about my favorite subject for discussions – Bangla Bands, regional ‘rock’ (well not all of this contemporary stuff is that, but the kids like to call it that πŸ™‚ ) music. I realized am supposed to keep people posted. So, like Ashok who writes the absolutely hilariously serious blog called “Doing Jalsa Showing Jilpa”, I made space for the Bands in the side bar – as you might have noticed, so you can easily find them all at one place, now, the links to the website of all the Major Bands.

Artist like, most of these guys are not bothered about such things as beating their own drums. They are too happy to be able to make music and live on their own rocking terms. So these sites suffer from neglect – they need a vigilant secretary – someone like me to keep at it I guess πŸ˜‰ but I don’t think any of them are listening…

At least, for those that are interested, now, you would get ‘some’ information about them in their own words, their album listings, labels, press, band members names with their email ID and contact numbers from the sites.

To make space for these guys, and fit in all the links of my own friends, I created a whole fresh new page for my Blogroll separately. The list of people I wanted to be able to view and go read at will, was expanding by the day anyway, the space had to be bigger.

I made a new blogfriend called Mike lately, a wonderfully grounded, amazingly affectionate and warm and family and life oriented geek, that is so much fun to read and get to know. He just loves his life so much, it is a pleasure to hear him talk, in his blog. When I had said I wish to understand why men go crazy about Linux Ubuntu, he went and did a whole post about it and made sure it was NOT geeky at all so I could ‘read’ it!

He is a bit like Priyank and Vee and Alok and Crazy Sam and Sunny and all these bright young people I happen to know, who light up your world with their zest for life and freshness of being.

I also discovered Anchal Tyagi, a feisty woman of my age, who thinks the world is her oyster when she is in a good mood – love the way she thinks and writes and loves her beau πŸ˜€ and writes her blog, recently she was into the pink chaddi movement in a prominent way too.
And found Doug at Open Salon and discovered Open Salon. I had stumbled upon Doug Moran on EBlogger last year, when he had done that spit-out-at-the-world post on “why bloody should it matter to the State if my friend is a Gay or Lesbian and how does their marriage affect mine”. Now he has moved to OS, I have updated his link. I like OS by the way – you could check it out when you have time.

Through Rambodoc I discovered a great ex Army man that does ‘cool’ posts on exercise regimens and diet, would have to link him up here for you, but I would like to ask him first, feel a little shy right now…but would get him here for you sometime, so you can sometimes enjoy his blog too, if you are curious about such things, that is…

Also, read a wonderful piece at unaccustomedwriting@blogspot.com dated Navratri…she says, one has to go away sometimes, to come back stronger! Really loved that. It is as poignant as Priyank’s post about that nine year old alter-ego of his had been…

With no TV, stereo and the VDO drive on computer not working, no friends or family or boy friend here in this strange city of Ahmedabad (feel uncomfortable socializing with ‘colleagues’ being basically a shy person), I blog surf like crazy these days. So that list of fav-reads continues to grow. Some of you are such amazing writers, you take my breath away. I am very fond of words. Even now that am grown up, they still conjure sound, sight, dreams for me and transport me the way nothing else but only love can!

So, then, hope you would let me know if there is any other way I can shift things around to make my space a little more roomy. Haven’t heard from Odzer, Vee, Alok, Priyank, Ashes, Lakshmi in a long, long time. I really miss you guys. I know I haven’t posted anything nice to draw you here, but am sure we are friends enough, now, for you to come and say a virtual “hi” now and then?

24 thoughts on “explanations that I think are due to you

  1. @ Rolling : You called? Hey its fun that you have been on voyage of discovery. Widgets are fun. As for my disappearance. I have managed to hack my PSP and I am addicted to playing Mario on it the whole day. However like all boys sooner or later I will get fed up with it and get back to what I like doing the best and blog! Anyway nice rearranged look and I like the fact that now we get to see your latest posts always on top.

  2. Hellooooooo!
    I’ve just been enormously busy at work, and then got enormously busy at getting ill…so that explains my no new posts and my not commenting on your posts…my brain is too clogged up and congested to say anything profound. lol.

    PS. Where’s the photo in your header from?
    And I do like the new, clean look. πŸ™‚

  3. Play Station Portable from Sony. Its kind of like a portable version of their play station plus you can surf the net, read blogs and do some other neat things on it.

  4. @Vee, Odzer, thanks. Vee, I dont expect ‘profound’ from friends when I can find them on time. The photo is from somewhere in the US, since you are nearby you might be able to tell. I have no idea.
    Some other ‘neat’ things on it means what Odzer? U paint pictures too?

  5. Liked your new look and appreciate the effort that went into it. You’ll slowly learn the tricks. Relax and be easy.

    I also took time to learn and experiment and am still on the learning path.

    You know, we read you and love you. Do we have to say it always ? πŸ™‚

  6. I thought it looked like it was America, which is why I asked. I dunno…could be any freeway in the US..it’s hard to tell where…they all look the same.

  7. Oh hugs, its good to see you progressing so much so fast. I mean the last time I remember few months ago was you asking how to post on a blog. Wowie. So happy and proud of you!

    I was away, as you probably know, but now I posted on my blog after 6 weeks! I’ll keep checking in from time to time. Take care and keep posting.

  8. Hi! πŸ™‚

    There are hundreds of tricks in blogging, and there is no weekend-crash-course-for-the-technical-aspects-in-blogging. You learn as you blog, its a slow and gradual process for everyone I guess….the older you are in blogging, the more tips and tricks you’ll have…

    Anyway, I was a bit off from the blogging world of late, which is explained in my blog on this post.

  9. That was your blog in a nutshell! πŸ™‚
    Pretty interesting! You will see me here often! πŸ™‚
    Best of luck ith your blog! πŸ™‚

  10. hanks Meghamala, thanks Mike . I even told our director our school model was like Ubuntu Linux, you could adopt it and then tweak it to suit your needs, was she impressed! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

