In the Year of the Woman

 

It says in the epics that in ancient times a woman called Kunti, enamoured by the valour and brilliance of the Sun god, desired him and gave birth to his son, who later came to be known as Karna. However, to preserve her social status as an unmarried virgin and her right to marry, she was forced to abandon her baby.

Yet Karna was not an unwanted child. He was not an ‘accident’! Later on this noble queen laments her inability to nurse her own offspring and keep it or care for it (see Michael Madhusudan Dutt’s “Karna-Kunti Samvad” a poetic rendition of a mother’s agony and pain faced with social dilemma).

Kunti, mother of Arjuna, queen of King Pandu is a character from the great Indian epic Mahabharata, composed thousands of years ago, portraying life and times in the Vedic age of Vyasa, the author. She along with the second queen of Pandu, had five IVF sons between them.

Has the contemporary social conditions changed?

In the age of  InVitroFertilization (IVF) and the Nano, and embryonic stem cell research (ESCR) and cloning, am I better off than Kunti? Can I be sayambhara* and choose the paternity and inheritance and heritage of my own child? Am I allowed to bear my child as I will?

Is the academic machinery being adequately used to empower her with competencies she would require as mother, caregiver, a tech-savvy worker, social or political leader or entrepreneur? Are the syllabii in schools still relevant to the social and economic roles a woman would be expected to play once she passes out?

Is she aware of her rights? Are there enough platforms where an average illiterate woman can voice hher grievances without commissioning the help of some political bhaiya ?

In the Year of the Woman and in the wake of March 8, the Woman’s Day, when I paused to ask myself these questions, the answer to all them was NO. India is still not ready

** Indian women continue to be repressed, forced to abort or to abandon her children, or face social ostracization unless society approves of the way it was conceived.

** She still cannot adopt easily,

** or admit her children to school if the father refuses to acknowledge them.

**In most cases she is still deprived of her father’s property on some pretext or the other.

** She still can’t rent a house easily if she is alone in a strange city, even if she is in her thirties.

In 1961 the Indian sex ratio – the worst in the world – was 976 females per 1000 males. Currently it stands at 927.

Despite the Pre Natal Diagnostic Technique Amendment Act of 2003, UN figures reveal that 75,000 female foetuses are aborted in India annually. Selective breeding has almost become endemic in India and means a woman is dead even before she is allowed to be born!

The Public Service Broadcasting Trust : In 2005, in a gender sexuality orientation workshop at the India International Centre at Delhi, the Chief organizer Rajiv Mehrotra had said that PSB commissions fifty two  films annually in their endeavour to create media content to help the government and agencies to understand relevant issues and introduce better welfare measures. When I visited their site there was no news of any film to be released presently.

The Prez struggles to roll out reforms, but the ground reality is this: “Many legal experts feel that President Patil should be more circumspect.”…“she cannot directly summon civil servants or ministers nor can she insist on promulgation of action plan. This is the job of a Prime Minister.” (Times News Network news item published in the student edition under the title President gets Cracking on Empowering Women.

Well, if our own President can only be informed and then just encourage , warn and suggest and NOT DO anything then obviously my plight stands defined.

Being raised well and steeped in the ethos of my beloved country, I would patiently continue to re-read the Mahabharata and of women like Rohini and Khona, and secretly dream of one day be liberated or at least be invested with the power to do it myself.

I am not lazy. I would not mind doing it for myself, provided I know I shall not be persecuted or repressed or raped or worst still posted at Patan or some such hell hole or divested of my job. I would wait. I guess that is what is expected of gracious people?

* Swayambhar : refers to the ancient Indian practice of the woman’s father/brother/the head of her clan, inviting all possible suitors at the house, there she is formally introduced to them, and their achievements and accomplishments publicly related to her, after which she selects her mate indicating her choice by presenting the man with a garland. Unlike in the West she doesn’t kiss him or hold hands. In India touching between opposite sexes was a taboo even back then. Even hand holding was not seen as a simple gesture of cordiality but had specific social significance. While rescuing Devyani from a well Yayati had to pull her up by her hands, and later marry her because he had held her right hand!

5 thoughts on “In the Year of the Woman

  1. I read your article . It’s great now I know many things which I never known before . Thanks for your research about women .

  2. What u wrote in your writing –“ In the Year of the Woman” all are true and expressed from your heart, very nicely. I too feel that from the very ancient period till today, the women of our country are really deprived in many respects. The women of developed countries, are comparatively in better position no doubt. what I feel- This is the result of “man ruled society system “. Even shamelessly we the man arrange, participate and deliver lectures in seminars & work shops on those issues, but we are not so much honest and at the same time not broad minded, to solve the real problems. I think to solve the problem only awareness to the women are not sufficient, counseling for men are needed too. Its now a chronic mental illness to the men.

  3. *Orijit/eternal_desire: u surprised me-didnt realize you were really listening…thanks…welcome to my world.:-) to get back to ur view:it’s reassuring to know men like you exist.

  4. Dear Mary,
    I love your picture, which I found when looking for images to illustrate the idea of Lady Wisdom in Proverbs. Please may I use it, with attribution, for my small congregation and the regular email I send out each week? (circulation under 100)? If you would prefer not, of course I will honor that.
    Sincerely,
    Ruth

    The picture I used as an icon here is by Mary Southard, CSJ, so Ruth you wouldhave find her and ask her. Originally the picture was displayed with pic credit printed at the bottom, but since I changed the template and edited the post (I had done that in ahurry meaning to return to it) on the post and later I hadnt been able to reset it as I had lost access to the acctt and it took me a long time to find it again. So I lost track of the webaddress etc or I wd have helped. Or you cd just use it and give her credit for it? and mention that you picked it up from the internet and mention the link, the way I had done it originally?

    • The artist of the painting I have accessed from the internet and used as an icon for my post, can be contacted here: ©Mary Southard, CSJ. All rights reserved. 1515 W. Ogden Ave., La Grange Park, IL 60526; msouthard@csjoseph.org
      Rev Sister, I had scanned hundreds of images to go with this post and discovered yours in the process and realised that nothing fits in with that post’s message or the mood it was written in, so aptly, but that picture you painted, if you ever see this here, please know, I have always been grateful and thank you sincerely,
      ~Trisha

Leave a Reply

